Knowledge Base
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

TAC Vista license version types required when upgrading.


Knowing which License to purchase when upgrading various scenarios.


TAC Vista License


Upgrade licenses are only available when a previous installation of Vista existed.


When performing a major version upgrade to a Vista site, a new or upgrade license will need to be purchased depending on the scenario. While minor version upgrades are free. See below.

  • For major revision changes, for example from 4.x.x to 5.x.x, Upgrade Licenses cannot be purchased. Need to purchase "Brand NEW" Vista Licenses.
  • For minor revision changes, for example from 5.0.x to 5.1.x, Upgrade Licenses can be purchased.
  • For minor updates, for example from 5.1.x to 5.1.8 no license upgrades are required.

Note: When an upgrade license is used it can only be used for the same license type. An  example that is not available would be upgrading a Vista 5.0.x Standalone to a Vista 5.1.8 Manager license. The only upgrade license for this option would be Vista Standalone 5.0.x to Vista Standalone 5.1.8

Part numbers can be found in the Vista License Packages document.

Tags (1)
Labels (1)
Version history
Revision #:
2 of 2
Last update:
‎2018-09-10 08:18 PM
Updated by: